Overcoming Your Fears

Hello all
I was sitting at my study desk and thinking of what make-up reviews to do for this blog, and realised I haven’t done a personal blog in quite sometime. So that’s what I’m going to do.

One of the first bloggers I discovered was Em Ford. I love her makeup tutorials on youtube, they are my favourite and she is beyond gorgeous!  Her makeup collection is what I’m aiming for, and her makeup techniques are wonderful. She helped to give me the self-confidence to start my own beauty blogging page, to experiment with makeup looks and be comfortable with my own self.
You can find her blogging website: http://mypaleskin.blogspot.com.au
and youtube: https://www.youtube.com/user/mypaleskinblog

I was once having not the greatest day and decided to check her blog out. I came across one of her latest blogs titled ‘The Fear of Never Being Good Enough.’ It truly exemplified how I feel from time to time and gave me reassurance that I’m not alone. I really relate to this blog as I tend to feel this way every now and then. It’s called Atelophobia which is the fear of not being good enough. It’s not something that I particularly want to have or to feel, but I have days where I sit, think and dwell on all my insecurities, my fears, and my weaknesses. Overanalysing and comparing myself to other people is one of my main weaknesses. But I discovered that happiness is found when you stop comparing yourself to other people. Be you!
Other thoughts I have tend to be that I’m not outgoing enough, maybe certain people don’t like me because I’m too quiet. It’s tough to consume yourself with these thoughts! But I’ve been learning to push away the negatives, and I try to focus on my strengths: what I’m passionate about, exercise, what I enjoy doing that makes me happy and to surround myself with supportive, positive people.  I feel that this particular era we are living in, we have so much more expectations of each other, especially when it comes to how we look physically. Instead, lets look in the mirror and reflect on who we are as a person and as ourselves: do we have integrity? do we mis-judge people? are we kind to people?
Nevertheless, having this fear does make me determined to do the best I can do in life. For me, this is working hard to achieve my goals and treating people with kindness. None of us are perfect, so we tend to judge people constantly, I feel this is a quality everyone needs to work on (including myself).  I achieved one of my goals last year by overcoming my fear of hiding away. Since I’ve always adored makeup and love writing, I knew beauty blogging was my way to go.. and I did it, even more so, I’m happy I took that leap, it was hard to, but here I am and I’m not leaving 😉
Gemma ❤
Leave a Reply

